Daily Archives: 23/05/2011

No Films = very little fun

I havent had time to go to the cinema this weekend, and to be honest there isnt anything new to watch, I’m seeing Blitz this tues and I have seen everything else that I may have watched already, which says more about the cinema than it does me I think.

I have reported most of the films that are on, with the exception of Insidious, which out of desperation for something to comment on I will break my rigid silence on this debacle. Its meant to be a horror film, or psychological/paranormal thriller but it doesnt work on any level for me. The cast itself seems to promise good thing Patrick Wilson, Rose Byrne and Barbara Hershey have been in some good stuff in their time but this is not one for their highlights reel. The premise is a bout a young boy who mysteriously drifts into a form of coma, cue spooky sightings and jumpy shots of windows etc. at this stage the film seems promising and I am settling in for some fun, but it has already shot its bolt and what follows is some very silly story telling and recurrence of the spooks seen in the first half hour of the film.

The film lacks intensity due to fact you dont really know whats supposed to be going on, you keep seeing the same ghouls over again so they lose their impact very quickly, and once the explanation starts it gets silly as the prepsterous story of what he is experiencing doesnt really hold much water. The final third is ridiculous with astral planning , chanted mumbo jumbo and B movie style hocum and the final twist is almost irrelevant in terms of shock value. I went with a friend who was terrified at the start and I enjoyed watching her squirm at the most telegraphed stuff I’ve seen more than watching the movie itself, which says it all.

I’m glad to be going to see Blitz tomorrow and hope I have something positive to write then.