Daily Archives: 31/05/2011

The Hangover 2

I liked this film, I’m putting that out there straight away in case I go off subject and sound negative about stuff. So to business, the movies is obviously a follow up to a modern classic The Hangover, a Todd Phillips film about a disatrous stag night in Las Vegas, the four main protagonists are here again as this time the nuptials are for Stew, the hapless dentist, and this time we are going to Thailand, a beautiful culturally rich country, twice the size of Wyoming apparently and also morally  corrupt, if the rumours are to be believed. This film kind of plays on this moral ambiguity and then some.  The plot is funny and well paced and once things go wrong youre ready  for the fun to begin.

The issue in this film is the missing brother in law Teddy, a 16 yr old who was drugged by Alan as an act of spite, problem was the drugs got mixed up and he inadvertantly brings Stew and Phil along for the crazy ride, which they have all forgotten by the time the awaken in a dingy hotel room in Bangkok. I wont spoil any of the fun stuff or though I will say that if youve seen the previews I have, then you have seen most of the good bits and this is my only real criticism of the film, they spoilt all the stand out moments by telegraphing them for months in cinemas. The film stands up well despite this, Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms and Zach Galifianakis all bring their A game and the supporting cast of freaks and wierdos are great. The story takes some sick turns along the way and you’ll need to have a strong stomach to hear some of their adventures but nothing too terrible as to spoil the film. The resulting high jinks are good if somewhat unbelievable  but you forgive the silliness in favour of the laugh out loud moments and although never quite reaching the heights of the first film it is a very good effort and should be lauded as such.

I know Phillips is flavour of the month at the moment and Galifianakis is on top form right now so their efforts are expected but Helms is the standout in this one and although I know his star is on the rise I think he will go from strength to strength which will make for some great entertainment in the future, Bad Bosses is his next vehicle and I will see this because he’s in it which is as much as a star can ask for after a performance such as his. As I said at the start I liked this film a lot, I probably wont see it again for quite a while but thats just to allow time for the laughs to take effect again.